Chapter 1- Are Dragons Real?

I often think of my life in chapter titles. I’ve found myself in moments thinking, “If I was writing a book, this chapter would be called ______.” This chapter of my life could easily be called Student Teaching, but that is so boring. For now I’m going to settle for Chapter 1, which is equally as boring, but as student teaching goes on… I’m sure it will change.

Teacher’s Tea is going to detail my student teaching journey, and hopefully follow me into my own classroom one day.

With that being said, I’m currently in my second week of student teaching, so let’s look at my first week.Teaching Books.jpgI met my cooperating teachers a week before I was to actually begin, and they sent me home with the lovely books above. On my way out the front door, my arms were cramping, I was replaying everything that I had just been informed on, I was deciding what my first day outfit would be, what I would pack for lunch, etc. (everything under the sun basically)…. and then a teacher hit me with “If  you’re trying to hide the fact that you’re a student teacher, it’s not working.” That short chapter could have easily been titled-Where’s your teacher bag when you need it or Show me your poker faceorientation_cake

cassieme_orientationorientationbinder

My roommate is also student teaching this semester. It’s especially great because I’m not the only one in the apartment who has to wake up at 5:30 AM and go to bed early.  I find solace in her also being tired and having a grandma bedtime. 😉
It’s also nice to have someone else to bounce ideas off of and show lesson plans to.

           firstday_selfie-copy

And we’re here! I’m settling into my new school and can’t wait to share the things I’ve been seeing and doing. My co-op teachers are amazing, I’ll talk more about them in another post.

3 things that I’ve quickly realized: 

1. On the first day I was hungry by 8:45 AM and lunch is at 12:30.. breakfast/snacks are a must.

2. The teacher’s lounge is where the real Teacher’s Tea is spilled.

3. After school yesterday, I was having a casual conversation and tapped the syllables in a word like we had been doing in class earlier… frightening.

teachers-tea* I have decided to name this post, Chapter 1: Are Dragons Real? because I am certain that any teacher or person working with children can fill up a notebook with what we hear during the day. I was asked today if dragons were real, to which a student interjected saying there’s a lot out there in the world that we do not know about, and astronomy is always right. So there you have it, Chapter 1: Are Dragons Real?
#teacherstea

Leave a Reply

