Chapter 3-I can breathe again

Balancing school and life has definitely been an adjustment. So many things have transpired in the past 2 weeks and I’m going to do my best to articulate it in the best way possible that does not turn this chapter into my very own memoir.

go-noodle

I’ve introduced GoNoodle to my teachers and the students in my classroom. We’ve been using it during their “Wiggle Time” (Which equates to what most know as brain breaks). The students love it and my teachers even have their own account now.

kindnessdoor

I’ve been getting involved in a lot of things at my school, and I am so thankful for that. The teachers are so kind and supportive; I’m learning so much. At the end of this coming week I will have taken over all of the classes that my teacher has responsibility for.

My cooperating teacher is apart of the school’s ‘Joy Committee’ and I helped decorate this door for part of their most recent joyous endeavor. How appropriate seeing that this week, February 12-18 is Random Acts of Kindness week.

hundredday

We celebrated the 101st Day of school in our classroom. While the whole school celebrated the day before, we did something different and our first grade classroom celebrated the 101st day. We all came in dressed in black and white (which made for some very aesthetically pleasing yearbook shots), and did things like draw 101 spots on dalmatian ears that the kids got to wear for the day, and build a tower out of 101 cups.

Teachers-TeaIt has not all been sugar and spice though. I’m laughing just thinking about the last couple of weeks. This past week in particular I had what I’m calling a cold. I was coughing, sniffling, sneezing, and most likely wheezing. It definitely got worse before it got better. I’m going to go ahead and thank the children of my school for that one. I think that I can also thank one of my students who found it necessary to wink at me during my read aloud and then tell me afterwards that I’m doing a great job and to keep it up. Confidence booster. We also had a talk about not winking at teachers. Anyway, I’m going into a new week with completed lesson plans and I can breathe again!

Leave a Reply

