Chapter 5 – Do not cry in front of the kids

“You’re off to Great Places! Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting, So…

get on your way!”

Dr. Seuss

crazy-hat-day

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss and Happy Read Across America Week. 
Here is my Green Eggs & Ham hat from crazy hat day!

Today was my first day in Kindergarten, for my general education placement. Quick timeline of events: Yesterday I finished my special education placement in 1st grade, today and tomorrow I’m mostly observing in my K classroom (before I begin to teach on Monday), and is it okay if I just jump to April 29?? — which will be graduation day. 😉

Leaving my students that I’ve grown to know and love in first grade was a bittersweet feeling. I’m going to miss them terribly, and I already went down to visit them earlier today. On the other hand, I’m beyond excited to build a relationship with my new cooperating teacher and my new kindergarten students. Moving forward, I’ll be blogging some of what’s going on in K and around the school.

Before I do so, let’s do a quick flashback of how first grade went.

present
I truly felt that between my cooperating teacher, her co-teacher, the para, and the students, it was a perfect fit. I was welcomed into the class, I was respected, and I was able to learn from everyone in the room. All of first grade is on one floor, and it seemed as if everyone greeted me with open arms and was willing to help me move forward.

I have been able to attend IEP meetings, reading meetings, and staff meetings. The school that I am at is very collaborative and I love it. As teachers, it should be encouraged to work together for the best student outcomes.

One of the teachers down the hall from my 1st grade room is part of a professional honor society that awards 5 students in the field of education a grant- This teacher approached me and asked if I would mind being entered into the running. I’m thinking “NOOO, TRUST ME, I REALLY DO NOT MIND!!!! Please help this broke college student that will soon be a broke college graduate, fill her future classroom with awesomeness.” Instead, I graciously accepted and followed the requirements needed to enter. I recently found out that I am one of the recipients for this year. This is just one example of the opportunities and blessings that have come my way because of my student teaching placements.

My cooperating teacher and her co teacher are two of the most supportive, encouraging, and patient women. They are kick a**, bad a**, and amazing teachers. I can’t thank them enough.

IMG_6500.JPG

teachers-teaThe relationships that have been built are priceless, and I’m so thankful for this growth journey that I am on. I’ll admit that at the end of the day I wanted to cry, but I held it in for the ride home.

One thought on “Chapter 5 – Do not cry in front of the kids

Leave a Reply

